Months back I received yet another mass-forwarded email from my mother. Most times, the mass-forwarded emails go unread and are whisked  away to the illustrious trash folder. Poor forwarded email. But this email was different. I didn’t contain a crude joke or a sappy sentimental poem *gag*. Instead it contained a recipe. A recipe for cake none-the-less. And to top it off, it was a recipe for 5-minute chocolate cake that one can make in the microwave in a coffee mug. SAY WHAT! Being a rational and sensible individual, I thought to myself that this little recipe might one day come in handy, say when one is feeling depressed and lonely, and only a sliver of pathetic.

Well friends, yesterday was the day. It was a sweltering afternoon. The humidity was lingering and thick. I couldn’t bare to turn the oven on but was craving a little sweetness. Without haste, I booted up the old commodore and retrieved the dusty  recipe from my hotmail account. Rationally, I decided to cut the recipe in half, so as not to feel like a total sap and got busy.

Not being much of a photo-journalist, it never occurred to me to grab a camera. Plus, one does not need photo evidence of an afternoon cake-for-one experiment. But let me tell you, in a matter of minutes I had a lovely little chocolate cake that I proceeded to top with fresh peach slices and possibly some ice cream. I devoured it and it was effin’ fantastic. I feel no need to explain myself or my actions.

Here’s the recipe, just incase the moment strikes you…

5 MINUTE CHOCOLATE MUG CAKE

Ingredients:
4 tbsp flour
4 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp cocoa
1 egg
3 tbsp milk
3 tbsp oil
A small splash of vanilla
1 large coffee mug

Directions:

Add dry ingredients to mug, and mix well.
Add the egg and mix thoroughly.
Pour in the milk and oil and mix well.
Add the vanilla and mix again.
Put your mug in the microwave and cook for 3 minutes on high.

The cake will rise over the top of the mug, but don’t be alarmed!
Allow to cool a little, and tip out onto a plate if desired.
Top with various cake-like toppings if the mood strikes you.

Then EAT it like you stole it!

